Love Letters

Feeding Love…

One of my friends has been grieving the loss of her mother for the last fourteen months. I can only begin to imagine the depth of her feelings; I have shared in her stories (happy and sad) as she travels this new road of life without her Ma.  I am in awe at the love that is not only woven through vivid memory, but living still in word and action every day…

Two months ago, on the difficult first anniversary of losing her Ma, my friend marked the moment with a heartfelt tribute.  What started out as a way to honour one woman’s amazing and generous spirit has quickly become something so much more. One act of love, in memory of a woman who’s life was love in action, is beginning to multiply like the loaves and fishes.  With her blessing I will share it with you, so that you in turn can pass the love along…

 It started with this little container, and a story. 

  

  

In honour of “Auntie” Anita’s great gift for sharing we were charged with this task: share the love, fill the container, pass it on. I was in awe. 

The container sat, empty, on my kitchen counter for some time. Here was a token from a generous and loving heart – a woman I never met – that represented so much.  Every time it caught my eye I thought about the life of this woman and the many lives she influenced. I relished sharing in the spirit of her generosity, which filled me up like food for the soul. Auntie Anita lived in my heart and kitchen alongside her container until I knew just what to do… I began to bake. 

As always, when baking takes place here at the Martini house there is a purposeful abundance to share. Like Auntie we have a collection of containers saved to fill and distribute amongst friends, teachers, and co-workers in gratitude for the many ways that they share in our lives. This container, though, was special. It needed to go to a special home. I packed it full of chocolate pumpkin spice cake…

    

…and included the story of Auntie with my note. 

I knew exactly who it should go to; another friend of mine, experiencing her own struggles, was in need of something special in her life. 
  

I left this little package on her desk coincidentally on a day that had been a huge challenge for both of us – turning tears of frustration into tears of love and laughter.  

  

One tiny moment leads to another. One tiny token begins to spread. One gesture, one smile, one act of kindness multiplies across the universe. Now when I think of all those containers piled up waiting to give I think of how much love can be shared. As my wonderful friend wrote recently  about her Ma: “perhaps feeding others fills you up too…”

” If I can stop one heart from breaking,

I shall not live in vain;

If I can ease one life the aching,

Or cool one pain,

Or help one fainting robin

Unto his nest again,

I shall not live in vain. ”

(Emily Dickinson)

Standard

8 thoughts on “Feeding Love…

  1. What a beautiful way to remember a loved one and keep her memory alive by paying it forward. Having been on the receiving end of many “plastic containers” this last year I can honestly attest to feeling the love in each homemade dish. There’s no greater gift than a homemade gift. ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true. Food for the body, food for the soul. And having been on the delivering end of some of those plastic containers I can tell you that just participating in that circle of sharing is a great gift too! No matter what grieves us, there is nourishment in community.

    Like

    • I am glad this story found its way to you. My friend is still deeply grieving, but honouring her Ma this way, in community, has been an inspiration to many, and I think another step towards healing the sadness she still feels every day…
      I’m so sorry to hear of your own loss – I’m sure it’s been incredibly hard. I hope that this small inspiration continues to resonate with you. I always believe that love in spirit lives on in the actions of our daily lives… Your life and family are a beautiful tribute.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Lara:

    From your keypad to my heart, there were a handful of words that made me smile including “Friend” and “Auntie”. My hurting heart is healing because of compassionate and generous people like you. I am touched that you would honour my Ma with your words and actions.

    You may not have met her in person but you are kindred souls. Thank you for sharing my Ma. Her other-centered love is my inheritance. Her selflessness is her legacy.

    In filling the tupperware forward, you affirm what my Ma practiced:

    “In each of our lives Jesus comes as the Bread of Life – to be eaten, to be consumed by us. This is how He loves us. Then Jesus comes in our human life as the hungry one, the other, hoping to be fed with the Bread of our life, our hearts by loving, and our hands by serving. In loving and serving, we prove that we have been created in the likeness of God, for God is Love and when we love we are like God. This is what Jesus meant when He said, “Be perfect as your Father in heaven is perfect.”
    – Mother Teresa of Calcutta

    Thank you, my dear friend, for sharing this journey with me. May God bless you.
    Rose

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

