Places to Go

Fort Langley (Volume 3)…

One thing (of many) that I appreciate about where we live is the crazy abundance of really diverse places to visit without driving more than half an hour or so – hauling children around on “adventures” has limits!  One place we love to visit (I have written about spring and summer visits before) is Fort Langley…  Every time we go I find new things to photograph and endless things to investigate.

On our most recent trip we managed some time searching for antiques and oddities before we headed into the museum.  I  captured my personal favourites for you:

…a BC Highway sign (which I still regret not buying…)

IMG_6852

…vintage tins…

IMG_6854

…carousel horse…

IMG_6862

…and some bowling pins…

IMG_6863

Our next stop was to check out the Fraser River’s Bedford Channel…

IMG_6867

…before heading into the fantastic museum.  Forgive me if you’ve been reading for awhile and these photos seem familiar – I always find myself enthralled with every nook and cranny and end up taking tons of photos – it’s a very photogenic place to hang out!

IMG_6868 IMG_6869 IMG_6870 IMG_6871 IMG_6872 IMG_6873 IMG_6874 IMG_6875 IMG_6877 IMG_6878

We did take a break from taking pictures to pan for gold…

IMG_6879 IMG_6880 IMG_6882 IMG_6884

…and Miss G. spent some free time playing a few tunes on the old upright.

IMG_6885 IMG_6886

Of course I loved the library – they have two vintage editions of Uncle Tom’s Cabin in the big house…

IMG_6889 IMG_6890 IMG_6891 IMG_6892  IMG_6894

The children always love the animals – the fort has a small replica of what would have been a functional farm.  Fresh eggs, goats milk, fruits and vegetables growing in the garden…

IMG_6896 IMG_6897

        Spending a day at the fort is a little bit like travelling back in time, but mostly I love the way it makes us look at the little details – the most important things to notice are usually the smallest.    

“Find beauty not only in the thing itself but in the pattern of the shadows, the light and dark which that thing provides.” (Junichiro Tanizaki)

Standard

2 thoughts on “Fort Langley (Volume 3)…

    • I think that is one of the reasons it’s good for children and adults alike. A more human scaled daily life can give us a fresh perspective on our modern one… Instead of making me feel tired it makes me feel energized! I would love to see this brought into the classroom just as much as technology. Balance!

      Like

Leave a Reply

