Places to Go

Alderwood Farm…

I am the luckiest person in the world. (One of them at least.)  Sometimes I forget.  Just when I really needed a reminder most recently I was invited on an amazing trip – I accompanied my littlest one on his very last pre-school field trip to a lovely dairy farm in the country.  On a beautiful sunny day, at the end of a harrying workweek, it was like a stolen moment for which I am very grateful…

IMG_6360

Farms, while probably some of the most hard-working places I have ever been, always impress me with their calm feeling…

IMG_6365

…plus they are places of sheer joy and deliciousness.  As depicted here in the form of fresh butter (hand made with love!)

IMG_6372

Here we have sweet Bilbo ready for milking… I tried my hand at if first (nothing like you imagine from watching movies…)

IMG_6385

…and then G.Jr. had a chance too.

IMG_6393

Look who’s over ten hands tall!  ( I think 11.5 hands is the benchmark for Disneyland rides.  Keep eating your dairy products little boy…)

IMG_6395

I loved this map of our province, showing all the farming areas around British Columbia.  It reminded me of an old Pete Seeger song that we sometimes sing in the car: The Farmer is the Man.  Where would we be without our farmers?

In spite of feeling like we were in another world the Aldor Acres Dairy farm is actually quite close to the “city”… just a little bit past Fort Langley which we also love to visit…

IMG_6404

The animals were all happy to see us…

IMG_6408 IMG_6413

…especially the baby goats as my baby was in charge of feeding one of them!

IMG_6428  IMG_6440  IMG_6444 IMG_6445

I think this little one thought she was coming home with us!

IMG_6449 IMG_6452 IMG_6454

As always, when visiting somewhere I love, I tend to look for ways to move myself closer.  Maybe this old house across the street needs a new owner and some TLC?

IMG_6461

For now it’s home to the city and our regular life… but I enjoyed the amazing view on the ride home every last second.  We are blessed beyond our ability to believe, and every once-in-awhile it’s good to take a day out the regular life to remind ourselves to be grateful.

IMG_6480

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend.” (Melody Beattie)

Standard

Leave a Reply

