From the art room...

Sunflowers…

The days are getting warmer, brighter, and longer.  The chores are mounting (garden! laundry! garage!) and yet our yearning for hammock time and lazy days is growing just the same.  I have started to detest the word “busy”.  I don’t really like to find myself so busy that I can’t find time for fun, and I don’t really like to tell others that I am busy as it always seems like complaining (which no one needs to hear – they’re all busy too…) or like bragging (also no one needs to hear – they’re all busy too!)  Sometimes it takes a great big bright colourful reminder to keep me focused on what is really important.

  

These sunflower pastel drawings (masterfully made by our sixth grade artists) helped me focus every day as I walked past them.  Our garden sunflowers aren’t blooming yet, but when they do they will be steadfast in their daily work.  They turn each morning to the sun and follow it’s journey from east to west, hosting busy bees and bugs while building seeds for us to reap and sow…

  

  

  

  

  “Ah Sunflower, weary of time,
Who countest the steps of the sun;
Seeking after that sweet golden clime
Where the traveller’s journey is done;

Where the Youth pined away with desire,
And the pale virgin shrouded in snow,
Arise from their graves, and aspire
Where my Sunflower wishes to go!”

(William Blake)

  

  

  

  What do I need to focus on each day?  How can I hold myself still as the busy world buzzes around me?  Life can be a simple routine followed each day – east to west, sunrise to sunset – but it is also a complex combination of tasks that culminates in the creation of tiny seeds to nourish and flourish for the next season.  Can I be a sunflower in my own world?  

  

  

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

