Places to Go

Granville Island (Volume 2)

Just over a year ago I wrote about a family trip to Granville Island so I am thinking enough time has passed to post some new photos… Of all the places to go in this city Granville Island is one of my absolute favourites.  I have many many childhood memories of wandering through the market stalls and shopping for farm fresh fruits and veggies interspersed with crafts, soaps, honey, flowers, trinkets and treasures of every imaginable sort.  It has evolved over the years, I suppose, but all of the character and creativity that inspired me as a child is still intact.  I love to visit today as much as ever. This trip was on a busy, sunny Sunday afternoon so we parked at the east end.  This painted wall next to the parking lot greeted us as we got out of the car: IMG_5252 (Side note: my friend Rose inspired me to take up the #oneword challenge on Twitter on New Year’s Day – my chosen word for 2015 is love.  I have been seeking and sharing love as often as I can, and am always thrilled to find it in environmental print… thank you Granville Island!) We walked down Railspur Alley toward the market, stopping for the occasional photo op… (Hard to tear artists away from giant paintbrushes…) IMG_5255 …chatted with the locals… IMG_5258 …and then stopped to marvel at the artwork decorating Ocean Construction.  My kids think the best thing ever is their painted cement mixers… see the one that looks like a giant strawberry? IMG_5264 IMG_5265 Next stop was the longhouse where Clarence Mills and his apprentices have totem carving underway in various stages… IMG_5278  IMG_5272 …after which we stopped to watch two talented tap dancers show off their moves.  My two young tappers were suitably impressed; maybe one day they’ll make enough money busking to pay me back for all those tap lessons? IMG_5277 Next up: into the market.  Since my childhood the gorgeous stacks of fruits and fancies have been a thing of beauty.  I still love to wander up and down the aisles admiring all the wares, and this time I managed to take some photos worth sharing!  I hope you like them: IMG_5281 IMG_5283 IMG_5284 IMG_5285 IMG_5286 IMG_5287 IMG_5288 IMG_5289 IMG_5290 IMG_5292 IMG_5300 IMG_5301 IMG_5302 IMG_5304 IMG_5305 IMG_5303 In spite of wishing for one of everything we managed to stay focused and only bought two big bags of apples for pie.  (After the black bear jumped our wall and ate all of ours – from two trees – in the fall Mr. Martini has been craving apple pie ravenously…)  All the sightseeing had given us great appetites so we ordered lunch from the Mexican booth and ate out on the patio with the best view ever and musical accompaniment: IMG_5294 IMG_5293 IMG_5295

IMG_5298

After lunch we walked back to the car, first through the loft with it’s many wonderful stores (one entirely dedicated to hats)… IMG_5306

…and then through the Children’s market… IMG_5307

…and lastly past the old yellow crane, standing sentry since the 1920s… IMG_5310

…already thinking of our next visit… (Do you have any childhood market memories that live on?)

Standard

2 thoughts on “Granville Island (Volume 2)

  1. Pingback: Granville Island (Volume 3)… | martinistyle

Leave a Reply

