From the art room...

Portrait, Volume 2 (Texture)

If you have been reading my posts for awhile you know how much I value art…  I find it endlessly inspiring and am thrilled to say that my children both consider themselves artists.  We think art is an essential part of every life.  Recently I posted this quote:

“All children are artists. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.” (Pablo Picasso)

It really takes effort as an adult to make room for art in life – there are so many pressures on priorities that sometimes, sadly, art gets lost as a “non-essential”…

However – when I hung out in a Delta school recently for my first edcamp I was completely inspired by the emphasis on colour and creativity and art in the halls of the high school.  Where there is art, there is expression.  Where there is expression there is learning.  Where there is learning there is joy…  I took quite a few photos of the various works on display – the joy in learning (and teaching) was inspiring…

They may have been working on a school wide focus as there were several sets of portraits in various mediums.  I have written about portrait art before, but I have never seen any like these:

IMG_2926

The texture of these portraits was amazing to see…

IMG_2925 IMG_2923 IMG_2924 IMG_2920 IMG_2921

Just down the hall from the paper portraits was this next series – lately I have been fascinated with art over newsprint, book text, music sheets so they caught my eye right away:

IMG_2943 IMG_2941 IMG_2942 IMG_2940 IMG_2938 IMG_2937 IMG_2939 IMG_2936 IMG_2932 IMG_2933 IMG_2931 IMG_2934 IMG_2928 IMG_2930 IMG_2929

I love the idea of the overlapping art and words or music telling two different stories, intertwined, contrasting or complimentary…

Portrait art is such a deeply personal kind of representation – how we see ourselves and eachother is the key to empathy in humans.  Portraits are the most vulnerable expression of personality – it is humbling to see yourself through the eyes of an artist, or to see yourself without bias for a self portrait…  When you look in the mirror I hope you see a work of art.

“There is a lot to be gained from painted portraits. A true portrait is fuller and richer than simply an image on a flat surface.” (Sam Adoquei)

Standard

One thought on “Portrait, Volume 2 (Texture)

  1. Pingback: Portraits… (Voume 3 – Colour) | martinistyle

Leave a Reply

