From the art room...

Emerging Artists…

Over the last few days I have been thinking a lot about what has inspired “great” artists, and whether or not there is a great artist in each of us… Last week on the playground during one of my recess supervision shifts I had a conversation with some fifth and sixth graders about art as a lifestyle.  We agreed that “doing” art was an activity that every life could use more of, and I fear that we eliminate it (especially the exploration part) too soon.  Yesterday when I was reading and posting quotes from Claude Monet this one really resonated:

“I would advise young artists to paint as they can, as long as they can, without being afraid of painting badly…” (Claude Monet)

Isn’t that the essence of it?  The moment children feel that their art is supposed to be something it isn’t is the moment the fear sets in, and with it the inability to continue.  (This reminds me of Peter Reynolds fantastic book Ish on the very same subject…)  Art shouldn’t be about product.  Art is about process.  It is personal, and experimental, and at it’s very best emotional…

I consider myself incredibly lucky – I live with some amazing artists.  Their exploration and accomplishment renew me daily.  Have a look:

IMG_1621

(Paper Portrait Collage, Miss G.)

“Art is not what you see, but what others make you see.” (Edgar Degas)

IMG_1662

(Paper Landscape Collage, Miss G.)

“Every artist was first an amateur.” (Ralph Waldo Emerson)

IMG_1782

(Living Room, G. Jr.)

“I dream my painting and then I paint my dream.” (Vincent Van Gogh)

IMG_1784

(Beary and Beary, G. Jr.)

“Every child is an artist.  The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.” (Pablo Picasso)

IMG_1822

(Inukshuk, Miss G.)

“Art washes away from the sould the dust of everyday life.” (Pablo Picasso)

IMG_1830

(Stars, Miss G.)

“To be an artist is to believe in life.” (Henry Moore)

IMG_2037 (2)

(Landscape, Miss G.)

“True art is characterized by an irresistible urge in the creative artist.” (Albert Einstein)

IMG_2037

(Cityscape, Miss G.)

“The artist’s world is limitless.  It can be found anywhere, far from where he lives or a few feet away.  It is always on his doorstep.”  (Paul Strand)

IMG_2039

(Flowers, Miss G.)

“If you ask me what I came to do in this world, I, an artist, will answer you: I am here to live out loud.” (Emile Zola)

IMG_2087

(Home, Miss G.)

“No great artist ever sees things as they really are.  If he did, he would cease to be an artist.” (Oscar Wilde)

IMG_2088

(Umago, Miss G.)

“The artist himself is often surprised at the finished work of art.  He cannot tell ‘how it happened’, nor could he repeat the feat at someone’s bidding.”  (John F. Carlson, painter)

IMG_2196

(Paints, G. Jr.)

“I am seeking.  I am striving.  I am in it with all my heart.” (Vincent van Gogh)

IMG_2197

(Angel, G. Jr.)

“A true artist is not one who is inspired, but one who inspires others.”  (Salvador Dali)

IMG_2199

(Music, G. Jr.)

“Art never expresses anything but itself.” (Oscar Wilde)

IMG_1833

(Dancing Rocks, Miss G.)

“He who works with his hands is a laborer.  He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.  He who works with his hands, his head, and his heart is an artist.” (Saint Francis of Assisi)

IMG_2315

(Anniversary, Miss G. – this one is in my private collection…)

IMG_1823

(Paper Doll, Miss G. – after our visit to the Gathie Falk exhibit at the Burnaby Art Gallery…)

IMG_3424 - Copy

(Stop motion clay figures, Miss G.)

IMG_3440 - Copy

“Drawing is exercise for a restless imagination.” (Tim Burton)

IMG_4381

Today I encourage you to support the artists around you, and the artist within yourself…

“Everything you can imagine is real.” (Pablo Picasso)

Standard

One thought on “Emerging Artists…

  1. And some from my private collection. Lucky the granmother who has a wall to curate her granchildren’s art on a regular basis. I can still remember the day Miss G told that woman in Opus that she was an artist, she painted every day, (she was 3)
    Love Mimi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

