From the desk of...

Looking at Clouds…

No matter how busy life gets there needs to be time for quiet, calm, reflective contemplation. One of my absolute favourite things about spring and summer weather is being outside with time to stare up at the great big blue sky.

20140516-225859.jpg

Looking up at something so infinite and universal is a quick way to get perspective –

 

That universal perspective is the best way I know to have an honest look at my own self.

20140516-230449.jpg

When I sit out in the evening garden and look up at the sky to wonder I get the feeling that the wind and light and clouds have made a message just for me…

20140516-230646.jpg

Like looking at tea leaves in the bottom of a cup – looking at clouds can be a revelation.

20140516-230918.jpg

What are the heavens telling me today?

20140516-231345.jpg

(from “The Cloud” by Percy Bysshe Shelley…)
I bring fresh showers for the thirsting flowers,
From the seas and the streams;
I bear light shade for the leaves when laid
In their noonday dreams.
From my wings are shaken the dews that waken
The sweet buds every one,
When rocked to rest on their mother’s breast,
As she dances about the sun.
I wield the flail of the lashing hail,
And whiten the green plains under,
And then again I dissolve it in rain,
And laugh as I pass in thunder.

20140516-231717.jpg

I am the daughter of Earth and Water,
And the nursling of the Sky;
I pass through the pores of the ocean and shores;
I change, but I cannot die.
For after the rain when with never a stain
The pavilion of Heaven is bare,
And the winds and sunbeams with their convex gleams
Build up the blue dome of air,
I silently laugh at my own cenotaph,
And out of the caverns of rain,
Like a child from the womb, like a ghost from the tomb,
I arise and unbuild it again. (Shelley)

20140516-231945.jpg

 

20140516-231955.jpg

“I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.
The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed–and gazed–but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

(William Wordsworth, 1804)

 

20140516-232809.jpg

 

What is the universe telling me today? Is there a message written in the sky for me to see?

“To live will be an awfully big adventure.” (J.M.Barrie, Peter Pan)

There is an awfully big adventure out there, under a great big sky speckled with a poetry of clouds… Did you get the message?

Standard

Leave a Reply

