From the art room...

Cityscape

Having a garden to run and play in is a great luxury, and a gift that I am very grateful for. I hope I never have to give it up! Even so, I am a city girl. Having access to everything I may need or want is something I have become accustomed to. One of my earliest “city” memories involves driving with my mom and singing along with the radio to “Downtown” by Petula Clark – I thought she was singing just for me.

20140501-220622.jpg

20140501-220635.jpg
(Art by kindergarten…)

“Just listen to the music of the traffic in the city
Linger on the sidewalk where the neon signs are pretty
How can you lose?
The lights are much brighter there
You can forget all your troubles, forget all your cares

And you may find somebody kind to help and understand you
Someone who is just like you and needs a gentle hand to
Guide them along
So maybe I’ll see you there
We can forget all our troubles, forget all our cares…” (Petula Clark)

20140501-220921.jpg

20140501-220931.jpg

 

20140501-221006.jpg

20140501-221017.jpg

 

 

20140501-221207.jpg

I recently read that the development of humankind is always furthest and fastest in the high density urban environment. Why? Apparently the close proximity of people leads to curiosity, innovation and collaboration… Brilliant.

20140501-222045.jpg

The “city” image is inspiring for children, as you can see here by the art it has launched. I remember looking wondrously at city lights as a child – thinking that amazing people and adventures were waiting for me, just beyond what I could see.

According to UNESCO, the best cities are:

“A network of creative cities, working together towards a common mission for cultural diversity and sustainable urban development.
Member cities are recognised as:
“Creative hubs” that promote socio-economic and cultural development in both the developed and the developing world through creative industries
“Socio-cultural clusters” connecting socio-culturally diverse communities to create a healthy urban environment.
The Network aims at developing international cooperation among cities and encouraging them to drive joint development partnerships in line with UNESCO’s global priorities of “culture and development” and “sustainable development”.”

Where do I sign up?

Standard

Leave a Reply

