From the art room...

Sunflowers…

It’s not exactly the season- we are just in the midst of cherry blossoms here- but as soon as I walked past this bulletin board in the school hallway this morning I had to stop and soak it in. The pictures don’t capture how lovely these paintings are, and they put me in the mood for summer! I haven’t seen fields of sunflowers since my last trip to Europe, and I am hoping that this summer I will be there again in time to see them in full bloom.

Until then, I will be happy to gaze at these paintings…

They were painted by one of our intermediate classes at a Vincent Van Gogh workshop. I couldn’t tell you which one is most beautiful… Each one is unique.

20140416-214459.jpg

 

20140416-214520.jpg

 

20140416-214532.jpg

20140416-214555.jpg

20140416-214606.jpg

Aren’t they wonderful? I took photo after photo but I still don’t think I captured them all. (I have taken at least this many pictures of actual sunflowers and never get tired of them.)

Some amazing poems have been written about sunflowers… Since it is poetry month I thought I should share!

Most famously,

“Ah Sun-flower! weary of time,
Who countest the steps of the Sun:
Seeking after that sweet golden clime
Where the travellers journey is done.

Where the Youth pined away with desire,
And the pale Virgin shrouded in snow:
Arise from their graves and aspire,
Where my Sun-flower wishes to go.” (William Blake)

 

I have to include some poems written by students… A few of the kids at my after school study group today had a few minutes to write:

Superb
Under the sun
Nicely
Flowing flowers
Luscious, lovely,
Outrageously beautiful
With brilliance
Especially bright…
Rise to the sun.

Sun
Flower
Gazing bright
Sky dance left and
Right.

Sun
Flower
Grows up high
In the blue sky
Light.

20140416-221656.jpg
Words, colours, flowers and art are for life. I hope you find their influence in yours!

Standard

Leave a Reply

