From the desk of...

Repetition…

The seasons come round and round again. A bit like a whirling carousel that picks up speed and blurs the sight lines as we all go round and round and round, life can seem frantic and dizzy at times.

20140411-184840.jpg

The way it seems to go by more quickly every year startles me when I stop to notice. Is it the busy-ness of children? Is it the time I spend at work? Is it the fact that I’ve been on this carousel of life so many years that the view doesn’t cause me to pause and wonder at the beauty of it all? In those sudden moments of sharp focus I know it’s time to change perspective. I step off the whirling ride and look around.

20140411-185444.jpg

It’s blossom time. The trees are moving into spring – it’s their cycle of repetition too. They follow the cycle of seasons without question.

20140411-185901.jpg

The trees are heavy with flowers but their moment is short. If I don’t stop to look and breathe them in for this brief moment they will suddenly be gone – through sudden rain, surprise frost, spring wind…

20140411-190342.jpg

Life is fleeting. Maybe 28,000 days. How many of them will be filled with visions of cherry blossoms and the lightness of spring?

 

“I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.  I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass, how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields, which is what I have been doing all day.  Tell me, what else should I have done?  Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?  Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” (Mary Oliver)

(Tonight’s poem: a short meditation on repetition, using repetition…)

Repetition/Change

Yesterday
The sky was grey and
Snow fell
Fluttering to the
Ground and
Round
About my life.

March.

Today
I see blue
Sky expanding, new
Liquid heights demanding my
Attention.
Birdlike, I adore this
Sea of sky.

April.

Tomorrow
Wind and sun are good;
I have understood
Expanding sky that way.
Trees swim and sway, their
Branches sweeping
Clouds clear away.

May.

If you are alive you are changing. The seasons are a reminder of the change that must happen in us all as we live and grow for those 28,000 days. What is it you plan to do?

Standard

Leave a Reply

