From the classroom...

Under the Sea…

I have lived by the ocean my entire life. I can’t see it from my house but I can get to it in a hurry if I have to, and it has been a significant influence at so many times in my life. These ocean things are wonderful: the sound, the mystery, the great expanse…

In the spring my mind always turns to ocean. Partly it’s the changing seasons which lead to outside time. Partly it’s the need for great big ocean to make my own life’s challenges seem so small…

20140410-221413.jpg

For twelve years as a Grade One teacher my classroom became an underwater adventure in the spring. The ocean is such a huge part of our world (70%!) that it is a natural wonder and essential discovery for children. There was always something calming about the watery blue, lavender and grey…

This spring I have been thinking even more about the ocean. It seems like every day there is a new story in the news about the struggle to keep the ocean clean, or about the animals who make their homes there, and how they are failing to thrive …

20140410-222827.jpg

So much of the ocean is a mysterious unknown

There is an instant connection between children and ocean. Are they closer to it than we understand? Do they recognize themselves in the force and wildness of it all?

Much has been written about the ocean. It has been the muse of painters, poets, musicians and more… What can I say that hasn’t been said? How can I describe something that is bigger than I can conceive?

Possibly impossible, but worth the effort even still! Tonight’s poem: a nine line form I discovered in the UBC writing program: “Silent, Loud, Eternal.”

Tide rises, falls.
Stars twinkle, blink.
Moon, beaming, slides.

Blue splashing swirls.
Cresting dizzy waves.
Voices, shouting, tilt.

Patterns; changing quick.
Ripples ever new …
Ocean floating free.

“We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop.” (Mother Teresa)

Standard

Leave a Reply

