From the kitchen...

Cookie Legacy

I love to bake. When I am happy, it is a celebration. When I am sad, it is a consolation. When I am pensive, it is an opportunity to think (or not!) and often leads to a new direction or solution. It is my happy place.

I guess my love of “kitchen” comes from my grandmother. (She is also responsible for my love of shoes. More on that another day.)

20140319-233836.jpg

Bami was the queen of the kitchen. She cooked meals of course, but her cakes and cookies were (without exaggerating) legendary. Christmas time was a flurry of flour and fixings – nanaimo bars, yum yum jams, cuplet cakes…so many sweets and treats that sadly no one makes anymore…

But the most revered item in Bami’s arsenal was the chocolate chip cookie. She would bake these cookies every two weeks or so and send them home for us to snack on as necessary. (Late night cravings, emotional upheavals, unforeseen celebrations, random cookie emergencies…)

A few years before I lost my grandmother to Alzheimer’s I had the chance to write down her chocolate chip cookie recipe. I have taken a few liberties with it over the years – I am sure she would approve – but each time I use it with my own family I feel the connection to my grandmother and her kitchen as strongly as I did when I was a young girl at the table watching her mix and measure so many years ago. It’s an unbreakable cookie connection… The sweetest kind of memory.

Today my children and I indulged in a cookie baking extravaganza. We filled our sink with dishes and our house with the amazing smell – good luck eating just one. There’s a reason these cookies have stood the the test of time – they are delicious! Bami would be so proud.

20140320-003309.jpg

Recipe Recap:

Preheat oven to 350*.

2c. Butter
2c. Brown sugar
1c. White sugar
4 eggs
1 tbsp vanilla
Mix!
4c flour
2 pinches salt
2tsp baking soda
Mix again!
4c. Chocolate chips
1 c. Chopped nuts
1/2c. Raisins
Mix , spoon onto cookie sheets and bake at 350* for 12-14 minutes.

Standard

One thought on “Cookie Legacy

  1. Pingback: Christmas Baking… | martinistyle

Leave a Reply

