From the desk of...

Role Models…

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” (Albert Einstein)

I didn’t grow up thinking I would be a teacher one day. I have always been passionate, and I have always been curious, and I went through the beginning of my life thinking I would definitely be something but not knowing exactly what that should be…

“It takes courage to grow up and turn out to be who you really are.” (e.e.cummings)

I spent quite a few years trying different occupations out (my daughter loves this – asking me to list my former “careers” is a source of delight for her) but I kept coming back to the idea of teaching.

“Find something you are passionate about and keep tremendously interested in it.” (Julia Child)

Years of wandering around outside the idea of teaching eventually led me back to school at exactly the right time for me – it was part terrifying risk and part thrilling adventure.

“If you are lucky enough to find a way of life you love, you have to find the courage to live it.” (John Irving)

The act of teaching – of leading others to discover their own passion and potential – gave me opportunity to grow and change as I learned about myself as a learner. Teaching has changed the way I see and do everything… It is a collaborative opportunity to grow every day… And it is not easy. There are fun days and challenging ones, joys and heartbreaks. Some students give back as much or more to me as I give them. Other students take all I can give and still it isn’t enough. No two days are alike, and the work is never done. I wake up every day with a new opportunity to do something amazing and I love it.

20140314-222712.jpg

The honour isn’t lost on me. I think about the role models that have been inspirations in my life and hope that somehow I have lived up to their example in the work I aspire to do too…

20140314-223211.jpg
(Louise Brooks)

20140314-223250.jpg
(Audrey Hepburn, with Hubert de Givenchy…)

20140314-223351.jpg
(Margaret Wise Brown)

20140314-223430.jpg
(Diana Vreeland)

20140314-223818.jpg
(Mother Teresa)

“If I can stop one heart from breaking,
I shall not live in vain;
If I can ease one life the aching,
Or cool one pain,
Or help one fainting robin
Unto his nest again,
I shall not live in vain.”
(Emily Dickinson)

And then some days I am thrilled to discover the signs that tell me I am making a little difference..

20140314-224952.jpg

20140314-225000.jpg

My students are terribly clever, don’t you think? They inspire and energize me everyday. They make me proud, and help me keep my passion for learning and discovery alive…

Standard

Leave a Reply

