From the desk of...

Rainbows…

This time of year in this part of the world the weather mostly consists of rain. Sometimes sprinkles, showers or storms but mostly – rain.
One of the bonuses of rain of course is the chance to be surprised with a rainbow, sometimes when you least expect it. The one above was a happy surprise on my commute home not too long ago. This morning I came across this quote:

“You’ll never find a rainbow if you’re looking down…” (Charlie Chaplin)

which prompted the idea of looking up – even on the dark days. Shortly afterward, in one of those serendipitous events, I found this poem in a book I have kept on my desk for almost two years:

As a child I was told and believed that there was a treasure buried beneath every rainbow.

I believed it so much that I have been unsuccessfully chasing rainbows most of my life.

I wonder why no one ever told me that the rainbow and the treasure were both within me. ” (Gerald G. Jampolsky, M.D.)

And so I reflected today on rainbows. On the colour and light that surprise us when we are tempted to keep our heads down and weather the storm. On the treasure that we may find inside ourselves, or in a friend, and on the joy that a little light can bring when it has something to reflect it. Here are a few “rainbow moments” from he classroom to brighten your day. Enjoy!

20140217-234059.jpg

20140217-234110.jpg

 

20140217-234126.jpg

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

